Skip to content

Comments From Our Readers

August 29, 2011
Shannon Primer, mother of autistic child

People are accessing our website from all over the world.

We look forward to hearing your stories, advice, and strategies for dealing with “On Aisle 9 Moments” or thoughts on how to prevent them.  

Shannon Primer, of Carlsbad, California has a blog, pitaup.com.  

She says going out into public with an autistic child can be tough, but not impossible.

The Escape From Autism Prison, by Shannon Primer 

"Two men looked out from prison bars, one...

Image by antonychammond via Flickr

I am thankful that my child with Autism was my 4th child and not my first. I had no choice in the matter of staying home and becoming a prisoner. I hope all you new parents keep trying, keep going out in public. Just do it small and build on it. Go to dinner at 3 pm when very few people are eating, work up to going at 4 pm with the old people, and then to 5 pm when it is busier. As a past server skip the 6 to 7 hours as it is not worth the wait nor is it worth adding to our kids issues.

…if you do not try you will always be a prisoner in your house

Keep trying, if you do not try you will always be a prisoner in your house and you will end up being one of those terrible stats of parents who kill themselves and their children.

Also reach out, meet your children’s classmates parents. There is support in numbers. There is also more services when you connect with other parents and figure out what services are available. Networking is everything in the world of Autism.

The truth of the matter is most of the parents I know with Kids with Autism are always teaching manners, unfortunately we do it around meltdowns.

If only the NT (neurotypical) parents around us would teach manners and compassion. I do not know how many days I stand at the park and make my almost 10-year-old wait for his turn while 18-month-olds to 10-year-olds cut him off and push him out of the way while their parents chat on the phone or look at their laptop. The playground is not a break for parents, its supposed to be a bonding experience, unfortunately most parents have missed the memo!!!

-Shannon Primer, www.pitaup.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 11:09 pm

    I can totally relate to Shannon as I was a prisoner in my home until I finally decided not to worry about what others thought of my sons behavior. As I began to analyze all children, whether they had special needs or not, I realized that most kids throw tantrums and have meltdowns. I think we as parents with special needs children tend to over react when our kids meltdown. We tend to run for cover! It’s really not fair to our kids. They need to learn to function in society and it is our responsibility to provide them with the opportunity. If the environment is causing him/her to have a meltdown then I highly recommend leaving the area.

    I recently started taking my son places I use to avoid and he is adapting quite well.

  2. August 29, 2011 2:35 pm

    After a bad autism melt down at the San Diego Zoo’s Safari Park this weekend I was just contemplating writing a blog on this subject. I guess I already started it here and did not even realize it.

Leave a Reply

