Skip to content

Cute Baby, Disorder, Still My Brother

January 9, 2012

Editor’s Note:  Through a class assignment “A Six Word Memoir”, our oldest child Jaydn decided to pour out on paper her thoughts concerning her younger brother’s journey with autism.  We thought it was beautiful and asked if she wouldn’t mind sharing it On Aisle 9.

 They play together, they laugh, sing and study. Six years separates them…little else does.

by Jaydn James

My brother, Grant, is five and has autism.

He can’t talk. But, that doesn’t mean he’s not part of the family. 

He can still play, write, and draw.

When you make fun of someone, do you really mean it? Sometimes you don’t know what they’re going through. Sometimes they could be having a bad day or be less fortunate.

They could have a huge difference they have to carry around for their whole life. A difference called autism.

My brother, Grant, is five and has autism. He can’t talk. But, that doesn’t mean he’s not part of the family.  He can still play, write, and draw.

So just because my brother has a disability doesn’t mean he’s not fun. He’s different just like everyone else in the world.

On Aisle 9 would love to hear from other siblings about their relationships with friends and family members who have different challenges.  What do you do for fun? Have you ever had to defend that person against bullies or people making fun of them?  How would you help others understand just how important they are to you?

Email your stories, thoughts and pictures to onaisle9@gmail.com. Jaydn will be happy to hear from you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2012 3:39 pm

    This is beautiful! I also have a special needs son, and I am constantly amazed at the relationship he has with his brother. In my case, my older son (age 10) is mentally challenged, and his brother is 6. Even though he is 3 1/2 years younger, the younger child never hesitates to defend his brother. It’s a wonderful thing. Thanks for sharing your journey!

  2. January 26, 2012 10:24 am

    This is so beautiful! I’m so off task at work right now because I’m reading your blog posts. lol. I think this is applicable to anyone with siblings. I know that with my siblings I’m extremely protective and sensitive. There have been many occasions where I took it upon myself to step in and run to their “rescue.” Though I’m not the oldest, I often find myself being the “sibling advocate” if you will. And I’ve always been this way, even when I was as young as Jaydn. I love that she’s not afraid or ashamed to publicly embrace her brother and ALL that comes with him. Though none of my siblings have special needs in the typical sense, they all have their sets of issues and like Jaydn, I embrace them and the things they come with.

  3. L. James permalink
    January 16, 2012 9:28 pm

    This pulls my “heart string.” A family is all about love. Through this love comes strength to face the many challenges that life brings. Thanks Jaydn. You are an inspiration.

    Mimi

  4. January 9, 2012 2:38 pm

Leave a Reply

