Skip to content

Special Needs Challenges in Social Situations

April 18, 2012

We’ve written here before about how parents of special needs children can often feel as if they’ve been sentenced to confinement. Many times that child’s physical challenges make it nearly impossible to interact in a social event.  Those brave enough to risk embarrassment and humiliation, sometimes get just that for their efforts when they go out to eat at a restaurant.

Vodpod videos no longer available. ABC News  recently had a very interesting segment called “What Would You Do?” In this segment an actor playing an autistic child exhibits some of the traits and behaviors of those on the spectrum. It’s amazing to see the reactions of the diners seated around this family of actors.

Please check out the story and let us know what you thought of it  in the comments section below. Do you think most people would have reacted the way these diners did? What would you have done in that situation?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Danielle permalink
    May 18, 2012 9:57 pm

    I just watched this for the first time and it made me cry. To think of any of the amazing children I am so lucky to work with everyday being treated this way breaks my heart! I would have reacted the same way! To me it is like this- if I could understand what a person was saying but not defend myself against that person verbally, I would want someone to defend me! Thank you for sharing, this is so touching!

Leave a Reply

