Skip to content

A Sunday Prayer

October 20, 2013

by Sarena James

Grant Sunrise

Today presented one of those mornings. One of those mornings that would put me at home navigating on a sea of emotions with the son, struggling to shine. He threw things in frustration. Screamed in place of words. 

I gave him an unexpected mid-day bath, he can bathe himself, but I wanted to create a happy place for him and bath time always is. He bounced with the bubbles and brightly colored animals that bobble when filled with water, squirting long streams that invite laughter. We made up songs. Splashed unnecessarily.  Lathered a wash cloth until it was soapy, perfect for a gentle (but annoying) scrub behind the ears.  Soon there was calm and a return to peaceful play. photo (4)

I asked God to meet me at my trying, because honestly, I don’t always know what to do.

Meet me at my efforts. My sincerity. My search for answers and better methods. Meet me at my indisputable love for my children. Meet me at my exhaustion, mistakes and frustrations. I asked God to meet me there. And when He does there is a love that whispers that my perfection is not necessary, expected or even required to run this given race. However, perfect attendance will bring its own reward. Take notes. Learn what you can. Share that humanness with others. And every day, try again…
One Comment leave one →
  1. October 20, 2013 9:08 pm

    Pretty essay, Sarena. I just finished the book The Reason Why I Jump. Have you read it? The 13-year-old really takes you into the mind of a young man with autism. He too mentions the calming power of water.

Leave a Reply

